Loading...

Google trusted Contacts-AGoogle initiative for the safety of your family and beloved ones



What is Google Trusted Contacts-Trusted Contacts is an excellent system provided by Google Inc. if you use trusted contacts you will be able to share your location with your loved ones, check your loved ones are active and find out where somebody is if you’re worried about them. To use trusted contacts you need to select your own trusted contacts and after you have select your trusted contacts you can send your real-time location to your contacts in case of a disaster or if you feel unsafe. Your contacts added to your trusted list will ask your present location if they think you might be in trouble. And if you can't respond within 5 minutes, your location will be shared to make sure that someone you trust will know how to find you if you really are in trouble. Trusted contacts can feel reassured about your safety by seeing if you've moved recently or if your phone's battery is low.
Google trusted Contacts
Google trusted Contacts

Platforms supported by Google Trusted Contacts

Trusted Contacts is currently available on Hand sets operating on Android Operating System and you must have Android version KitKat or above. The contacts you want to add need not to have necessarily a particular Operating System and can use any platform. Even they can use web browser to request your location. The only person whose location is required to be traced needs to install the app is his smart phone hand set.
Google is expected to release the iOS version of the app soon and if you want to be e-mailed when an iOS version of Google Trusted Contacts is released Click Here to Sign up.  


How to Set up your trusted contacts


  • Following these simple steps you can easily add Trusted Contacts to your Google account-
  • Go to Google Play Store and Download the Trusted Contacts from there.
  • Open the app and sign in with your Google account, your existing google account is sufficient.
  • Complete the tutorial and select the people who will be your trusted contacts.
  • If you wish to enter an e-mail address that is not shown as a suggestion in the app you can type it in directly.(If you select an e-mail address that does not belong to a Google account then the owner of that address will need to sign in with their Google account before they can request your location.)


How to Reply when somebody asks for your location

Only the persons added as a trusted contact can ask for your location. If you don't reply within 5 minutes then your location will be automatically shared with that trusted contact. When somebody asks for you location, your phone will ring, as if you receive a phone call and a full-screen notification will show you who's asking for your location. Here you have three options-
(1) Share your location with that contact. 
 
(2) Decline to share your location, your location is not shared. In this case your contact will see you declined. 

(3) Don't answer the request. Here is the most important action of the app. If the request is not answered within 5 minutes the app will feel that you are in trouble and need help. As a result your location will automatically be shared.

Important features of Google Trusted Contacts


  • The Google Trusted Contacts lets you create a list of, well, trusted contacts from your contacts list,
  • You just need to tap a button, and it starts Sharing your location until you stop sharing it the same way.
  • You could share your location via WhatsApp too, if you don't mind having to manually send your location
  • The app Google Trusted Contacts will slight adverse effect on your smartphone's battery life.
  • It is much more better than the apps such as Find My Friends, available on Apple's iOS, which share your location whenever your trusted friend seeks this information.
  • When sharing is on, the app also lets people see where you are while you're commuting, which is a nice feature. They can also request your location via the app or Web, and you get a notification for it.
  • The most important action of the app is, If you don't respond within five minutes, the app assumes a trouble and sends your location automatically.
  • If the privacy concerns don't bother you and you are on Android, Trusted Contacts is a good app to share your location with your loved ones.
  • Proactively share your location if you feel unsafe or find yourself in an emergency
    Your trusted contacts can see your phone’s activity status to quickly know you’re OK.
    Whether you’re online or offline, in an emergency or just need reassurance, Trusted Contacts connects you with the people you care about most at the times you need them most.



Newer Post Older Post

2 comments:

 
Toggle Footer
TOP